Alberta Politics

Four candidates enter NDP nomination race in Lethbridge-East, Joshua Gogo first to seek UCP nomination in Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche by-election

High School social studies teacher Kevin McBeath has entered the Alberta NDP nomination race in Lethbridge-East, becoming the fourth candidate to join the contest.

“My family is my top priority, and I am seeking this nomination with their future province in mind,” McBeath said in a Oct. 23 press release. “I have been investing my time, talent and treasure in Lethbridge-East for nearly two decades as a teacher and basketball coach at Winston Churchill High School. It is my love of teaching and coaching young people that has motivated me to run.”

McBeath will face former MLA Maria Fitzpatrick, local non-profit executive director Amanda Jensen, and former City Councillor Rob Miyashiro at a nomination meeting scheduled to take place on Nov. 21, 2021.

This is the second time in recent memory that the NDP have had a contested nomination in Lethbridge-East. Fitzpatrick won a nomination race against Tom Moffatt and Kris Hodgson ahead of the 2015 election.

Election results in Lethbridge-East from 1986 to 2019.
Election results in Lethbridge-East from 1986 to 2019.

Lethbridge-East has been represented by United Conservative Party MLA Nathan Neudorf since 2019.

The riding has an unusual electoral history for Conservative-voting southern Alberta, having been represented by two locally popular Liberal MLAs from 1993 t0 2011, and then by Fitzpatrick during the NDP’s term in government from 2015 to 2019.

The NDP have also scheduled nomination meetings in Edmonton-Glenora on Oct. 27, Calgary-Falconridge on Oct. 29, Calgary-Currie on Nov. 13, and Calgary-Buffalo on Nov. 15.

First candidate steps up for UCP nomination in Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche

Joshua Gogo
Joshua Gogo

Joshua Gogo is the first potential candidate to file papers with Elections Alberta to seek the United Conservative Party nomination in the upcoming Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche by-election.

A by-election will need to be called before Feb. 15, 2022 to elect a replacement for former MLA Laila Goodridge, who was elected as the Member of Parliament for Fort McMurray-Cold Lake in the Sept. 20, 2021 federal election

Gogo is the Chief Economist and President of Global Advisory & Transaction Support at Afcote Associates based in Fort McMurray. He earned his Masters and PhD in Economics from Carleton University in Ottawa and a Masters degree in Computer Information Systems from Florida Institute of Technology.

In 2020, Gogo was appointed by the UCP government to serve on the Automobile Insurance Rate Board.

The date of a nomination meeting has not yet been announced.

Alberta Politics

alberta candidate nomination update – september 2011 (part 3)

I have updated the list of nominated and declared candidates standing for parties in the next provincial general election:

Calgary-McCall: Liberal MLA Darshan Kang was nominated as his party’s candidate. Mr. Kang was first elected as MLA in 2008.

Calgary-Mountain View: Christopher McMillan announced over Twitter that he is seeking the NDP nomination in the inner city Calgary constituency currently represented by Liberal MLA David Swann.

Calgary-Northern Hills: Iqtidar Awan was nominated as the Liberal candidate in this north Calgary constituency.

Dunvegan-Central Peace-Notley: Nathan Macklin willl seek the NDP nomination on September 30, 2011. Mr. Macklin was the NDP candidate in the 2008 election, earning 15% of the vote in that election.

Edmonton-Ellerslie: Recent Edmonton Public School Board Trustee Tina Jardine is seeking the NDP nomination in this south Edmonton constituency.

Edmonton-Gold Bar: MLA Hugh MacDonald has announced that he will not seek re-election (you read it first here).

Edmonton-Meadowlark: Newly elected Liberal Party leader Raj Sherman was nominated as his party’s candidate yesterday. Dr. Sherman was elected as leader of the Liberal Party on September 10, 2011 and was first elected as a PC MLA in the 2008 general election.

Grande Prairie Smoky: Mary Dahr is seeking the NDP nomination scheduled for September 29, 2011. Ms. Dahr is a Lab Tech at the Queen Elizabeth II Hospital in Grande Prairie and is a Northern District Board member of the Health Sciences Association of Alberta.

Lethbridge-East: MLA Bridget Pastoor is seeking her party’s nomination on October 5. Ms. Pastoor was first elected in 2004 and re-elected in 2008. The NDP have nominated Tom Moffatt as their candidate. Mr. Moffatt ran in 2008 when he earned 5.7% of the vote.

Lethbridge-West: Independent Financial Adviser Bal Boora is seeking the Liberal nomination on October 5, 2011. This will be Mr. Boora’s third consecutive election as the Liberal candidate in this constituency. He finished second in both elections, with 32% in 2004 and 35% in 2008.

Peace River: Peace River teacher and environmentalist Wanda Laurin is seeking the NDP nominations scheduled for September 30, 2011.

Spruce Grove-St. Albert: Reverend Juliette Trudeau was nominated as the NDP candidate on September 22, 2011.