Alberta Politics

alberta candidate nomination update – september 2011 (part 3)

I have updated the list of nominated and declared candidates standing for parties in the next provincial general election:

Calgary-McCall: Liberal MLA Darshan Kang was nominated as his party’s candidate. Mr. Kang was first elected as MLA in 2008.

Calgary-Mountain View: Christopher McMillan announced over Twitter that he is seeking the NDP nomination in the inner city Calgary constituency currently represented by Liberal MLA David Swann.

Calgary-Northern Hills: Iqtidar Awan was nominated as the Liberal candidate in this north Calgary constituency.

Dunvegan-Central Peace-Notley: Nathan Macklin willl seek the NDP nomination on September 30, 2011. Mr. Macklin was the NDP candidate in the 2008 election, earning 15% of the vote in that election.

Edmonton-Ellerslie: Recent Edmonton Public School Board Trustee Tina Jardine is seeking the NDP nomination in this south Edmonton constituency.

Edmonton-Gold Bar: MLA Hugh MacDonald has announced that he will not seek re-election (you read it first here).

Edmonton-Meadowlark: Newly elected Liberal Party leader Raj Sherman was nominated as his party’s candidate yesterday. Dr. Sherman was elected as leader of the Liberal Party on September 10, 2011 and was first elected as a PC MLA in the 2008 general election.

Grande Prairie Smoky: Mary Dahr is seeking the NDP nomination scheduled for September 29, 2011. Ms. Dahr is a Lab Tech at the Queen Elizabeth II Hospital in Grande Prairie and is a Northern District Board member of the Health Sciences Association of Alberta.

Lethbridge-East: MLA Bridget Pastoor is seeking her party’s nomination on October 5. Ms. Pastoor was first elected in 2004 and re-elected in 2008. The NDP have nominated Tom Moffatt as their candidate. Mr. Moffatt ran in 2008 when he earned 5.7% of the vote.

Lethbridge-West: Independent Financial Adviser Bal Boora is seeking the Liberal nomination on October 5, 2011. This will be Mr. Boora’s third consecutive election as the Liberal candidate in this constituency. He finished second in both elections, with 32% in 2004 and 35% in 2008.

Peace River: Peace River teacher and environmentalist Wanda Laurin is seeking the NDP nominations scheduled for September 30, 2011.

Spruce Grove-St. Albert: Reverend Juliette Trudeau was nominated as the NDP candidate on September 22, 2011.