Best of Alberta Politics

The Best of Alberta Politics is voted on by readers of and listeners of the Daveberta Podcast annually in December.

Best Alberta MLA 

2019: Rachel Notley, Leader of the Official Opposition and MLA for Edmonton-Strathcona

2018: Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta and MLA for Edmonton-Strathcona

2017: Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta and MLA for Edmonton-Strathcona

Best Cabinet Minister

2019: Sarah Hoffman, Deputy Premier, Minister of Health, and MLA for Edmonton-Glenora

2018: Shaye Anderson, Minister of Municipal Affairs and MLA for Leduc-Beaumont

2017: David Eggen, Minister of Education and MLA for Edmonton-Calder

Best Opposition MLA

2019: 2018: Rachel Notley, MLA for Edmonton-Strathcona

2018: Greg Clark, MLA for Calgary-Elbow

2017: Greg Clark, MLA for Calgary-Elbow

Up and comer to watch 

2019: Janis Irwin, MLA for Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood

2018: Jessica Littlewood, MLA for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville

2017: David Shepherd, MLA for Edmonton-Centre

Biggest Issue

2019: Budget cuts

2018: Pipelines, oil, and the economy

2017: The economy and jobs

Best political play

2019: The firing of Election Commissioner Lorne Gibson

2018: Draw (some variation of pipelines and oil industry actions)

2017: The formation of the United Conservative Party

Special Categories

Best candidate who didn’t win in the 2019 election

2019: Danielle Larivee, NDP candidate in Lesser Slave Lake

New candidate to watch

2018: Janis Irwin, NDP candidate in Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood