2007 Edmonton Municipal Election By-Elections Education

May 20, 2007

I hope everyone is having a good weekend. It’s rained over the past couple of days in Edmonton, but thankfully it’s not raining today. Here’s a bit of a roundup from a busy week.

– Long-time Ward 6 Edmonton City Councillor Terry Cavanagh announced that after 27 years on Council he won’t be seeking re-election in the October 2007 Municipal Elections. In April, Ward 4 City Councillor Michael Phair also announced that he won’t be seeking re-election this Fall. Also, Dave Dowling is running for Mayor again…

Also, make sure to check out the Edmonton Municipal Politics blog.

– The Alberta Teacher’s Association rebuffed Tory Education Minister Ron Liepert’s Pension liability proposal.

– The Calgary Elbow and Drumheller-Stettler by-elections continue this week.

– I saw the film Radiant City on Wednesday night. Playing at the Princess II Theatre on Whyte, Radiant City is a documentary filmed in Calgary highlighting the problems emanating from the post-WWII suburban boom. Anyone who’s traveled to either Calgary or Edmonton in the past 5 years will see that these two cities are now dealing with many of these issues. I’d stronly recommend that more people go and see this film.

By-Elections Nominations

drumheller-stettler by-election.

Today is the day that the Alberta Tories will chose their candidate to replace former Finance Minister Shirley McClellan in Drumheller-Stettler. There are three candidates running to carry the Tory banner:

– Jack Hayden, farmer and former President of the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties (1998-2005).
– Norman Storch, Hanna-area farmer.
– Leona Thorogood, an accountant from Stetter.

The Alberta Liberals have nominated local farmer and former County Councillor Tom Dooley.

Other nominated candidates in Drumheller-Stettler include Socred Larry Davidson, Alberta Aliance candidate Dave France, and Alberta Green Jennifer Wigmore.

UPDATE: Jack Hayden has been nominated.


can you say ‘by-election?’

From yesterday‘s Orders-in-Council.

O.C. 197/2007
April 18, 2007

The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints the following persons as returning officers for their respective electoral divisions for the purposes of or in connection with elections, enumerations and plebiscites under the Election Act:
(a) Jean Minchin of Calgary as the returning officer for Calgary Elbow;
(b) Doreen E. Nixon of Byernoore as the returning officer for Drumheller Stettler.

Also, I’ll be posting my thoughts on today’s Alberta budget tomorrow.