Alberta Politics

Tuesday morning candidate nomination update in Alberta

Five-term Progressive Conservative MLA Wayne Cao announced last week that he will not be seeking re-election as MLA for Calgary-Fort. Known around the Legislature for his good humour, love of the opera and online selfies, Mr. Cao came to Canada a refugee from South Vietnam in the 1970s. According to one news report, Mr. Cao, then-28 years old, was one of the first people to scramble onto a U.S. navy evacuation helicopter just before Saigon fell in 1975. He was first elected as MLA in 1997.

Christopher Primeau and Beverly DeSantis have announced plans to seek the PC nomination in Calgary-Fort.

Joe Anglin
Joe Anglin

In Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre, Wildrose-turned-Independent MLA Joe Anglin has been barred from seeking the PC nomination. Tammy Cote and former Lacombe County reeve Terry Engen are seeking the nomination.

Taking a broader look across the province, the following updates have been made the list of Alberta Election candidates:

Airdrie: City of Airdrie Mayor Peter Brown has been acclaimed as the PC candidate. Mr. Brown will succeed PC-turned-Wildrose-turned-PC MLA Rob Anderson, who is not seeking re-election.

Battle River-Wainwright: Realtor Wes Taylor is seeking the Wildrose nomination.

Calgary-Cross: Hardeep Rai has joined the PC nomination contest, which is also being contested by Jesse Minhas and Dan Sidhu.

Calgary-Fish Creek: Richard Gotfried and Myles McDougall are seeking the PC nomination.

Calgary-McCallNajeeb Butt and Irfan Sabir are seeking the NDP nomination.

Calgary-Mountain View: Lynn Moen has joined Jean-Sebastien Rioux and former MLA Mark Hlady in the PC nomination contest. Incumbent Liberal MLA David Swann has been acclaimed as his party’s candidate.

Cardston-Taber-Warner: Aaron Haugen is seeking the NDP nomination. In 2012, Mr. Haugen earned 4.3% of the vote in this constituency as the NDP candidate in 2012.

Chestermere-Rockyview: Jamie Lall is challenging Wildrose-turned-PC MLA Bruce McAllister for the PC nomination. Mr. Lall was his party’s 2012 election candidate in Calgary-Buffalo, where he placed second to Liberal MLA Kent Hehr.

Drumheller-Stettler: Former PC MLA and cabinet minister Jack Hayden, Drumheller Councillor Greggory Jackson, and former PC constituency president Ed Mah are seeking the PC nomination.

Edmonton-Castle DownsNicole Goehring and Todd Ross are contesting the NDP nomination scheduled for nomination date: Feb 24, 2015.

Edmonton-Centre: David Shepherd is seeking the NDP nomination, scheduled for March 3, 2015. Mr. Shepherd currently works as a Communications Advisor with the City of Edmonton.

Edmonton-Ellerslie: Two-term MLA Naresh Bhardwaj is facing a challenge from Balraj Manhas for the PC nomination.

Fort McMurray-Conklin: Ariana Mancini is seeking the NDP nomination scheduled for Feb. 20, 2015. Ms. Mancini is the Local Political Engagement Officer with the Alberta Teachers’ Association Local 48 in Fort McMurray.

Livingstone-Macleod: Former PC MLA and Redford-era cabinet minister Evan Berger is seeking the PC nomination. Mr. Berger faced criticism after he landed a plum job in the public service after he was defeated in the 2012 election.

Red Deer-North: Three-term Red Deer City Councillor Buck Buchanan is expected to announce his plans to seek the PC nomination. The constituency is currently represented by retiring PC MLA Mary Ann Jablonski.

Spruce Grove-St. Albert: Former city councillor Neil Kortash, businessman Rus Matichuk and former government spokesperson Kathleen Range are seeking the PC nomination on Feb 21, 2015. The constituency was previously represented by former finance minister Doug Horner, who resigned as MLA on Jan 31, 2015. Mr. Horner was first elected in 2001, when he unseated two-term Liberal MLA Colleen Soetaert.

Stony Plain: 
Lorna Wolodko announced on Twitter that she is challenging first-term MLA Ken Lemke for the PC nomination scheduled for March 14, 2015. Ms. Wolodko  is employed as a receptionist in the Premier’s Office and previously worked as Constituency Manager to Mr. Lemke and former Stony Plain MLA Fred Lindsay.

Wetaskiwin-Camrose: Bruce Hinkley is seeking the NDP nomination. Mr. Hinkley was the 2012 NDP candidate.

The following PC MLAs have been acclaimed as candidates in their constituencies: Maureen Kubinec in Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock, Jonathan Denis in Calgary-Acadia, Gordon Dirks in Calgary-Elbow, Linda Johnson in Calgary-Glenmore, Teresa Woo-Paw in Calgary-Northern Hills, Rick Fraser in Calgary-South East, Heather Klimchuk in Edmonton-Glenora, Everett McDonald in Grande Prairie-Smoky, George Rogers in Leduc-Beaumont, Stephen Khan in St. Albert, Dave Quest in Strathcona-Sherwood Park, Robin Campbell in West Yellowhead, Verlyn Olson in Wetaskiwin-Camrose and George VanderBurg in Whitecourt-Ste. Anne.

I have added these updates to the list of nominees and nomination candidates planning to run in Alberta’s next general election. Please email david.cournoyer [at] if there are additions to the list. Thank you.

One reply on “Tuesday morning candidate nomination update in Alberta”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *