Alberta Politics

A short roundup of municipal election races across Alberta

With a feeling of excitement in the air, Nomination Day came and went today as residents across Alberta officially became candidates in this year’s municipal election. With nearly 120 candidates registered to run in Edmonton’s municipal election, today’s event was busy. I was at Edmonton City Hall at this morning’s event and snapped photos of many candidates.

While it was expected that some Edmonton City Council candidates could be acclaimed, the only two unchallenged incumbents in this year’s vote are Edmonton Public School Trustees Sarah Hoffman and Cheryl Johner. I have updated the list of Edmonton election candidates with their social media links.

After a busy morning and evening of attending election related events, I joined Ryan Hastman and Mack Male for a special Nomination Day #yegvote Google Hangout. You can watch the hangout in the embedded video above and find previous episodes at

Here is a quick look at some of the interesting municipal election news from across Alberta:

– Popular Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi is expected to cruise to victory, but still faces eight challengers.

– Former Progressive Conservative MLA and cabinet minister Ray Danyluk is running to become the next Reeve of St. Paul County. Mr. Danyluk served as MLA for Lac La Biche-St. Paul from 2001 until 2012.

– Former PC and Wildrose candidate Guy Boutilier has thrown his name into the election for Wood Buffalo Municipal Council. Mr. Boutilier was MLA from 1997 until 2012 and Mayor of Wood Buffalo from 1995 until 1997.

– Former Wildrose candidate Maryann Chichak is running for Mayor in Whitecourt.

– Well-known political blogger David Climenhaga is running for city council in St. Albert.

– In July he announced his retirement from politics, but according to the Bonnyville Nouvelle, Town of Bonnyville Mayor Ernie Isely is running for re-election. Isley has served as mayor since 2006 and was the PC MLA for the area from 1979 to 1993.

– He may be enjoying retirement from Ottawa, but former Member of Parliament Myron Thompson is once again running for a spot on Sundre Town Council. Mr. Thompson was the MP for Wild Rose from 1993 until 2008, and was Mayor of Sundre from 1974 to 1980.

– Former MLAs Weslyn Mather and Ray Martin have thrown their hats in Edmonton’s public school board election. Ms. Mather was the Liberal MLA for Edmonton-Mill Woods from 2004 until 2008. Mr. Martin was leader of the Official Opposition NDP from 1986 to 1993, and was elected as MLA from 1982 to 1993 and 2004 to 2008.

Robert Wilkinson was convicted of impaired driving, became an internet sensation with his rendition of “Bohemian Rhapsody,” and is the only candidate challenging Edson Mayor Greg Pasychny in this year’s election.

– In the Village of Bawlf, only one candidate filed nomination papers to contest the election for the five member village council. According to the Village’s Twitter account, the “Village Office will be open 10-12 weekdays til Sept30, until 5 nominations are received.”

– In Grande Prairie, popular mayor Bill Given is being challenged by former councillor Gladys Blackmore.

Richard Richards has been acclaimed as mayor in the Town of Stettler.

Twenty-four candidates have filed nomination papers to contest five council seats in the flood damaged town of High River.

Please share in the comments section below if there are any interesting races or candidates who I have missed.

6 replies on “A short roundup of municipal election races across Alberta”

In the City of Grande Prairie, 16 people filed nominations papers for the 8 Council seats, which are elected at large (GP has no ward system); this is a tie for the second highest number of candidates for Council.

Meanwhile, in the County of Grande Prairie No. 1, Reeve Leanne Beaupre, who represents Division 3, has a challenger for her Council seat this year (she was acclaimed in 2010), Lorraine H. Smyth. The position of Reeve is not elected at large in the County, but chosen by Council at its first meeting after the election. Only two of the County Council seats will be elected by acclamation this year.

The town of Gibbons, located northeast of Edmonton is having their first election since 2001. Mayor Nimmo is retiring after 33 years on council. Three councillors have put the their names forward along with another resident to run for mayor. There is only one incumbant running for council while seven new people have put their names forward for the 6 council spots, of which four are women. Gibbons is about to have a major change in their council composition, it will be a representation of the demographic population.

Red Deer has 30 candidates running for 8 spots on council. No incumbent running for Mayor so there are 5 people contesting the Mayor’s chair, including 2 incumbent councilors. An interesting candidate – Dennis Moffat was a councilor from the 80s and 90s who is now running for another go on council.

Dave – would love a run down on women elected as Mayor’s in Alberta – I think we have a few new ones!! Influencing factors? Premier Redford? McQueen? Just a thought – would make for an interesting article.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *